RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Failure

The condo where we are staying for a week has a rooftop pool on the tenth floor. This offers a stunning view of Banderas Bay and the malecon which runs directly in front of our building. The pool also provides a bathing place for hundreds of birds which perch on the building next door. My wife discovered this last night (while I was editing photos) and shot a cool video of these birds swooping into the pool and then flying off. With my superior equipment (my wife was shooting with her iPhone) I headed up to the roof this evening around 17:00 to capture the action. It turns out bird in flight photography is exceedingly difficult and my results were a dismal failure. Very few were even close to in focus, the light was bad, and my timing horrendous. After a week of great success on the volleyball court, it was humbling to say the least. This shot was the best of the bunch, but very disappointing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.