Lake Wanaka

So near and yet so far! We’d love to have been able to visit blipfriend Snowy and see her amazing garden, but sadly were only in Wanaka for a quick coffee stop. It looks such a beautiful town too and I hope we can return some day.

A long drive today through wonderful scenery, which varied from dense forest to the open sea. Loved the variety of native trees and shrubs, with many in full flower now.

A quick paddle in the Tasman Sea (next stop Australia) and then it was on to view Fox Glacier from a distance (see extra) before our hotel stop for the night in Franz Josef Glacier.

A walk to the glacier is planned for the morning, but I will have to pass on that and send TJ to take photos for me. My hip is playing up and I’d be a liability to the group. Not too bothered as I’ve been to other glaciers and even walked on them, which you are not allowed to do here.

Ready for bed now and it’s only 9.15 pm here. All these early starts are catching up on us:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.