The Laying on of Hands

Someone with hands bigger than mine had been up and about in the sub zero temperatures before me this morning, but it seemed wonderfully peaceful as I did the rounds before breakfast.

It proved to be a welcome peace when we discovered only a little later that Black Friday week, the rugby match between Scotland and Australia at Murrayfield, the Christmas Markets and the never ending influx of tourists had again swelled the population of Central Edinburgh to unmanageable levels.

I suppose it was my fault that I failed to notice that the token for a free cup of coffee and cake at John Lewis was not valid until Tuesday. Had I realised that, His Lordship and I would never have gone anywhere near town. However it did give us a chance to inspect the canyon that once housed the St James Centre;it is so deep and the demolition seems to be taking forever.

After a quick visit to see daughter #1 who was holding the fort in a Dundas Street Art Gallery, I battled home through the tide of humanity........ and my, how I love the people walking in straight lines with the eyes glued to their phones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.