Baby Beech Trees Grow Up

I know I’m only a little beech tree, but one day I’ll be big and stout and tall like the other trees around me. What I lack in maturity, I make up for in my lustrous russet leaves when Autumn arrives. They look especially fetching when the old trees are losing theirs and look old and bald.
I stand out like a little orange beacon to the lady in the yellow coat who parades round the Meadows at odd times of the day. She even notices me when I’m half asleep just before sunrise, and says words of encouragement to let know she has noticed me in the dark.

She has just passed again this afternoon with a man who didn’t seem to know that I was a baby beech and not a common Rowan. I hope I don’t look anything like one of those- I like to think I am so much more compact and robust.

The lady was later than usual with her afternoon walk because she whispered to me as she took my photo there had been friends for lunch. I watched her as she took other photograph of fallen leaves ( which I thought was quite a strange thing to do) and then having to run to catch up with the man who didn’t break stride because of the arctic conditions.
I love that she has chosen me over the fallen leaves for her blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.