The mane attraction

Friday morning was the presentation of the U3A Bowling in the Park trophy. F and his partner were runners up - he had won in the previous two years so there he'd had a lot of ribbing during the year as you can imagine! It was a bit of a muddle as one of the winners turned up very late - he hadn't told anyone that he had a doctor's appointment beforehand. The councillor who was due to present the shield arrived even later - his excuse was that his wife had told him to strip the beds! Official photos were taken by the photographer for the local paper.

We then trooped off to the Memorial Hall to support the coffee morning and sale in aid of the League of Friends for the Orthopaedic Hospital. I had a piece of lemon sponge that was absolutely delicious. The same photographer was there recording the event for the paper.

F kindly made me a bacon sandwich before I went home for the afternoon.

In the evening I went to Ellesmere's Christmas lantern parade where I was in the band. I had so many layers on I must have looked like the Michelin Man! We marched through the town together with many wonderful lanterns and moving paper sculptures made by people from the Ellesmere. The main one is a jointed horse with two people working it and there are two more photos in extras. There was that same photographer for the paper - he recognised me from the other two occasions.

Afterwards we went to local hostelry where we warmed up and spent the evening playing more tunes and chatting - it was a great music session. 
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.