2511

We've had a cloudy day, but magnificent sunrise for couple of minutes. We just happened to be outside with the dogs, and unfortunately I only had my iphone with me.

This is one of the common villas we have here in our area. On the right bottom corner you can see how they look in a row.

Today I have learned how to make HIMMELI.  Himmeli is usually an ornamental piece made of straws (I used drinking straws). The name himmeli comes from the word Himmel (the sky) of the Germanic languages.

"The basic elements of Himmel are the pyramid and the octahedron, that is, the eight-sided deciduous. The simplest himmel consists of one large base pattern and six smaller shapes attached to it. The motors are generally rotational symmetric and are hung from their top point on thin sewing thread on the ceiling. Today, the himmel is usually seen at Christmas time, but before that it was considered a good luck to harvest. In addition, before it was believed the size was effective: the harvest was the better the larger the himmel was."

Well I made very simple ones that I'll hopefully get to hung outside on the second floor over our French windows. They are black . The other one has silver decorations and the other one golden bells as decorations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.