Round the World

Weel, the newsletter was duly tossed off and so I printed off 20 copies and left them down at the Bell Block. That'll allow me to say at the AGM that I've done three Fairwinds and the Club Handbook in the past 12 months (though I won't actually be present).
I have been hugely enjoying this book about the 1968 Round the World yacht race. As Evelyn predicted, it's a fascinating read; and I love some of the observations.
Donald Crowhurst was 36 years old. This is an age when most men - that is, business and professional men, not artists or bohemians or mystics, but men with families, responsibilities, and middle class aspirations - are beginning to have some success in their work, if they are ever to have any at all. And it's an age when most people are beginning to see themselves clearly, whether they like what they see or not.
And I liked this piece on Crowhurst's mother, brought up in colonial luxury but much reduced on becoming widowed after her return to these shores - she became filled with a bitter sense of superiority blighted by circumstance. She passed a heavy dose of this on to her son.
Fabulous stuff - a real page turner, except, err it's on the kindle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.