Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Missed ID...Again!

Since this was another new little birdie for me, I sent a photo to my bird whisperer, Alma. We're both pretty confident it's a thrush.  She thinks it could be a Swainson's  but it might also be a Hermit.  Here's the two things I've been looking for: the breast spotting on the Swainson's is indistinct, and the upperparts are a uniform brown. The Hermit has a distinctly red cast to the tail, contrasting with a brown back. 

The puzzling thing for me are the markings on the tail.  
Any thoughts from my birding friends out there?  For all I know, I could even be wrong about it being a thrush.  [of course, I was completely wrong.]

Thanks to loisbiz who pointed me in the direction of wrens.  I'm so used to seeing the huge cactus wrens in my yard that I forgot most are much smaller.  The key, as I thought, would be the tail markings.  It's a Rock wren.

For the past week or so I've kept thinking a hair or something kept hanging in front of my right eye.     I realized yesterday it's a big, round floater (like a hollow penny). Then, especially at darker times, I was seeing quick flashes of light, like a strobe. I called the eye doctors office yesterday but they were closed for the long holiday weekend.  Hopefully, I'll get an early call back on Monday morning. 

Just another day on the calamitous odyssey...
:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.