Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Fuzzy Pink

Attached to the tip of a rose hip bush it stood out from the green of the hedge, stunning with the water droplets on the red tufts!

It reminds me of coral fronds with it's construction of what seems like a root system delicately intertwined below the vivid pink flower-like hairs - all reaching for the raindrops. It just had to be blipped!

I know I should know what this is - but I don't so I would welcome any information from my blip buddies as I have been googling all evening to no avail

Thanks to pennybun I can now say that this a Robin's Pincushion; a gall made by the plant under the influence of a tiny gall wasp Dipoloepis rosea. They can be 10cm in diameter and contain between 40 and 50 chambers each containing a grub which feeds of the host plant till it emerges in the spring as a wasp.

Still pink for Breast Cancer Awareness!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.