Joining the others

We stayed overnight at the beachhouse on the way back from Whangarei. Joined S' brother and his partner for dinner, prepared and cooked by S' mother for us all. She was pleased to do this for us; I was impressed by how well she managed. She doesn't stop surprising us. 

This morning I went down the steps to Southend of Snells Beach as the tide was coming in; about two hours post low tide. Initially, it seemed I was too soon but as I went further out onto the mudflats I saw a white faced heron. Got close enough to be able to get the first extra. Almost immediately, I then saw the kuaka. Between me and them was a lone tuturiwhatu (dotterel) busily feeding (the second extra). I continued to walk slowly, trying to get closer to the kuaka. 

They do tend to take fright and flight readily. This one had become separated from the main group, and was leaving to rejoin the rather scattered group. I have to wonder just how much food there is, as the waders do seem to always be very dispersed. Fortunately, there is a large expanse of mudflat at low tide; more than 2 km long and 800+m wide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.