Kiasma

In yesterday's blip (my entry to the community blipfoto architecture challenge), I mentioned that in addition to many fine examples of modernism, Helsinki also has some great contemporary buildings. One such building is Kiasma, the modern art gallery, which I pass every day when I go to work. We walked into the city this afternoon (mainly so that I could print out my paper, but also for the sheer joy of getting some exercise), so I went past it at a different time to normal, just as it was getting dark. It made a stunning sight, especially when viewed in the context of the buildings around. Its details are pretty damn good too.

I was busy all morning and through the early afternoon completing a paper and powerpoint presentation, which I then presented by video link to Florence. It seemed to work well, although obviously you get zero feedback from the audience. I'll have to do another skype presentation in a couple of weeks, so I should get used to this... I'm very sorry to miss the conference, and seeing my pals, but staying here has been essential. Even today we had to go running around chasing up a necessary follow up appointment, and leaving Mr A to do all that on his own would have been grossly unfair.

If you feel you aren't getting enough of my Helsinki photos, these days, there's always the flickr album, which I update regularly :-).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.