Cloud Show Reflected on the Lily Pond

Once again this week, the weather for Tuesday is supposed to be mild and lovely. So just like last week (Freedom Tuesday, anyone?), I'm taking Tuesday off work. Since I'm doing that, I decided to go into the office on Monday, a day I usually work at home. This afforded me the opportunity for a quick but delightful visit to the Arboretum on a Monday morning on my way to work.

In truth, I was most curious to discover how the Christmas decorations are coming, and whether the Christmas tree is in the Glass House at Childhood's Gate yet. But there is no tree so far. And if there will be decorations, they are not there yet! The volunteers have lots of work to do, as the Arboretum's winter festival will take place a week from this Friday.

Temperatures have been rather mild, about 10 degrees higher than what is typical for this time of year. And so the lily pond is not frozen over yet, though it probably will be within a few weeks. I found it reflecting the cloud show, with plenty of green water lilies remaining to liven up the surface.

It occurred to me that as long as the water surface is not frozen, it can still be a summer's day at the lily pond. And so my song to accompany this image is Donovan, with Summer Day Reflections.

Bonus: another lily pond reflection shot from a few years ago featuring a Donovan tune.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.