Looking Down Into the Railroad Tunnel

The weather was expected to be quite nice on this day, and so I took an impromptu vacation day to go and have an outdoor adventure with my husband. It did get quite lovely, with high temperatures in the low 60s F, and it was great to be out.

From the very earliest time that we knew each other, which is to say 30 plus years ago, my husband and I have gone hiking at this place. It's a natural area along the Little Juniata River not far from Petersburg, and it is full of railroad tracks, bridges, and pretty views. And yes, there are LOTS of trains!

This is a view looking down into the railroad tunnel, which might be known as the tunnel at Barree. The track on the right is for trains heading toward the tunnel. The one on the left is for trains coming out of the tunnel, toward me. The trains always blow their whistles before entering this tunnel.

When I took the train from Tyrone to Harrisburg and back TWICE this past summer (see here and here) to meet my oldest sister for trips, my train (the Pennsylvanian) passed through this tunnel. It was quite dark inside, and overall a very cool experience!

The soundtrack: Foreigner, with Double Vision.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.