At the Arboretum: A Powdered Sugar Snow

We had a tiny skiff of snow late in the day into the overnight on Sunday, and it left the ground covered in white in the morning. The work week will be a short one due to the Thanksgiving holiday, and so I found myself on my way in to the office on a Monday, for a change.

The snow was just a little one, very light and fluffy, not even an inch; what I think of as a powdered sugar snow. So delicate. Pretty in the morning; gone by lunchtime or early afternoon.

I decided to stop at the Arboretum to check out the snow, and this was one of my lovely views: the scenic little wooden walkway surrounded by golden grasses between the Arboretum and Park Avenue.

I found the parking lot and paved areas slick and icy. The areas covered lightly in snow without any ice beneath were safest for walking. I quite happily made tracks, but my footprints were not the first ones on the boardwalk; others had walked before me in the magic of the powdered sugar snow.

The song: Michael Buble and Chris Isaak, Let It Snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.