Free the Skittles! cried Dexter

It is a thing I just had to try. I had seen magical photos online that other people had taken of colorful candies under glass, as viewed through droplets of liquid. Magical being the defining word. So I wanted to try it out. Alas, my results were something . . . less than. . . magical.

It was flawed form the get-go. I didn't have an actual sheet of glass, so I used a Pyrex container. The Pyrex was too thick. The container was not quite big enough. It had lettering on the bottom, which was distracting. But hey, a girl's gotta do what a girl's gotta do.

So I set it all up on the bathroom sink, which is where most of my major experimental photography projects take place. I put down a sheet of white paper. Atop that went the Skittles, first in random order, then arranged in neat stripes according to color. Atop that went the Pyrex. Atop THAT went the droplets. Carefully: Drip. Drop. Drip. Drop.

And then came the Tabby! Dexter is my photo assistant, and let me tell you, he is GOOD help. Good help, indeed! He came over to check things out, and he pawed at the Skittles with his pinkee toepads.

Then he sat and looked at those Skittles, innocent of all wrong-doing, trapped in their Skittles jail made of Pyrex. "FREE THE SKITTLES!" cried Dexter. "FREEEEEEEEDOMMMMMMM!!!" Freedom, indeed. And so I did.

The soundtrack: Pharrell Williams, with Freedom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.