Time to add the flowers...

This is Arvin's and my gravestone. The pot at the left contains a hazelnut and the one on the right has a flowering current in it. Behind, not showing in the photo is a pot with a bitter cherry tree, a very tiny young one. All three of these are part of the gravesite and today we, I should say Brian Flowers with me, Steve and Helena watching, planted them. In 50 years the gravesite will be full of flowers and the haiku on our stone will be true to the environment. The extra shows Brian about to plant the cherry tree.

I started the day with a gathering at the Colophon Cafe of my Alzheimer's society friends. We ate and laughed and celebrated one of the gal's birthday. It was fun.

Then I dropped off a painting at my studio and stayed awhile to work a bit on my current painting and pick up a painting that belongs to Lynda.

Then I picked up Helena and we met Steve and Brian at the Greenacres Cemetery where Arvin is buried in the green burial area known as the Meadow. We met to add the three plantings to our site. Then we drove home and Steve and I played while Helena read all the papers and catalogs I'd been saving her. I made dinner and we had a lovely evening together.

Now I'm hanging out at my computer, blipping and musing over the day. It felt good to be at Arvin's grave together while Brian planted and we all talked and shared the moment together. A good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.