Woody is a Girl

I was spoiled for choices today for my blip. This was one of the first photos I took when I looked out the bedroom window and saw this Pileated Woodpecker enjoying our suet. It looks like Woody Woodpecker but I know it is a female because of the black marking on the side of her face. Males have red there.

The weather stayed decent so after doing several chores and picking up my paintings from DIS, I took a long walk in Whatcom Falls Park. I encountered much more than I expected there. I carried three cameras: my RX100 for wide, my GH4 with the tele zoom for wildlife, and my Sony A7Rii with its 90 mm macro lens for close ups. I was armed and ready. And happily I came across a family of Hooded Mergansers in Derby Pond, and a family of deer wading in the creek, along with lovely scenery and the creek flowing very fast after all the rain we've had. I got lots of good shots. I posted some of the best on Chaikins of Bellingham. It was a lovely walk and made me feel so relaxed and at peace. It felt so good to be walking again after so many days of intractable weather.

At home I did the wash and some correspondence. Also got a note from Silverado. It will still be a couple of weeks until they can open but things are moving in the right direction. It sure takes a long time for all the approvals and licensing. Both Arvin and I are ready and waiting for the door to open.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.