Survivors

Last night as I was going to bed it began to rain. The rain we get here is usually very fine and it doesn’t make much sound, but this rain got louder and louder until it was a roar that would drown out a passing coal train. I shone my torch out of the window to look at the columns of water, and the way rain splashed on the leaves, surrounding them in mist. It lasted for just a few minutes and amounted to 19mm, a very rare occurrence. I feared for the wee praying mantis nymphs. How would they cope with such conditions?

I was relieved today to find at least half of the nymphs I have been tracking survived the ordeal. They must be good at holding on. Two of them were on a poppy plant that was flattened. I propped it up and later the two appeared in their usual places.

In the picture at the top is one of the older nymphs, about two weeks old. It has grown well, and is eating, as you can see. The two below are still very small. One is eyeing a tiny fly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.