Chimneys n Windows

Looking down the street, the new build blending in with the older buildings, filling the gap and joining the different frontages. On my way back from the doctor as I went in to get the never-ending cough checked out. Nothing to worry about he said, after listening to my lungs and looking down my throat, these things just take time and it's not atypical, even after four weeks since it started. Still not 100% though so pulled out of football again, which was a shame as it was the last game at Meadowbank before the place gets closed and re-developed, supposedly re-opening in 2022. Although I've only been involved in the now-Monday-previously-Tuesday game for about fifteen years, it was probably the same time again further back that I started playing in the lunchtime business indoor five-side leagues with the guys at S&N. We won the ten-team league just once as I remember, with a crucial win in a game when one of our team, DC, got injured and taken to hospital but insisted the rest of us keep playing the last few minutes to confirm the win, rather than abandon the game against our closest rivals and play another time. And I've played other sports there too, including indoor hockey with Inveresk, squash and badminton, not to mention watching Mark Morris and his dance group in the Festival and various other events over the years - athletics and football in the main stadium, war-game conventions under the main stand and election counts in local and national elections, including my one time as an electoral agent - for a council candidate. She won. Lots of memories of the place. End of an era.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.