A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

A Heavy Burden

Sometimes I feel like a heavy weight is on me, particularly when it comes to my creativity or my self-confidence. Like today, I wanted to make a batch of lip balm but I could not find my recipe - the tried and true version of vanilla shea butter lip balm that everyone raves about. I just had it a week ago so I know it is not far from my grasp. I have about fifty containers sanitized and ready to fill, and it only takes about 30 minutes to complete the task, but the paper copy of the recipe is nowhere to be found. I get so discouraged when I can't find a key piece of information. I lose sight of the fact that there may be other resources (including my own memory) that I could make use of. I become stifled, blocked, paralyzed.

I wonder if Annie Leibovitz ever felt that way. Then I noticed that Annie lies underneath the heavy Book of Inside Information in my living room. Poor Annie, lying there helplessly trapped underneath so much heavy information.

Tomorrow I will rescue her from her burden and perhaps I will also find my recipe.

Off to bed now...

deb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.