Doune Castle

We only toured two castles today. But I feel we saved some of the best for last.

Our first stop today was at Doune Castle - pictured above. I really enjoyed touring this castle as the audio tour was narrated by Terry Jones, co-director of Monty Python and the Holy Grail. Scenes from that movie were filmed here - and now I must rent that movie!

Then it was on to the magnificent Stirling Castle where we spend more than 4 hours. This castle was massive and it took us that long to see only a fraction of it! This ceiling was in the King's chamber. And seen from the castle walkway was this roundabout.

Speaking of roundabouts, they were everywhere. And I have to give R credit for doing a marvelous job of driving all over Scotland! You rock, babe! I even had a hand at driving for a bit!

Sadly, our day ended at an Edinburgh airport hotel for our final night in this absolutely gorgeous country!! Thanks for all the wonderful memories!

I'm not sure how many photos R took but I took over 1000!! We drove almost 900 miles (not bad for a small country); met some really wonderful people; and saw so many great castle ruins, beautiful cathedrals and abbeys! And overall just had a splendid time!

Thanks to everyone who made this such a memorable holiday and one we will not soon forget!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.