Listen to the Sound of Mull!

I wasn't going to get caught out two days in a row, so I decided, on what might be the last sunny day for a while, to nip over to Mull while the sun was still shining. I was listening to Pop Master on Radio Two just after 10.30 and thought I would go over on the noon boat - if the weather deteriorated I would stay on the boat and come back, if it was good then I'd catch the next one home.

A short while later I was busy cleaning out some bird feeders when I chanced to glance at the clock - 11.40! Put my shoes on, stuffed a coat and my camera in my backpack and set off down to the ferry terminal. As I walked along Ardconnel Terrace I could see an unfamiliar boat coming in, still the other side of Kerrera. It turned out to be 'Isle of Arran', filling in for the 'Isle of Mull' which must be in dock. After all that I still had to wait for ten minutes, as she was slightly late coming in.

I don't think I've been on the 'Isle of Arran' before. She has the advantage of a good forward-facing deck, unlike most of the other big boats. The sun shone weakly, the wind blew strongly, the sea was choppy and I had a pleasant conversation with a couple going to Tobermory for two days. We were suspended on a dark blue sea inside a ring of mountains, white with snow and shining in the sunlight - absolutely beautiful! Ben More ahead of us and Ben Cruachan behind. 

When we arrived at Craignure, however, the sun had already dropped below the hill leaving most of the village in shadow, so I decided to stay on board and enjoy the sunshine on the way home. A quick bowl of tomato soup while we were pulling away from Mull and then up on deck again for a sunny journey back to Oban. As we passed the Lismore Light the good ship 'Ronja Skye', listed as a Fish Carrier, came butting up the Sound and posed nicely for a Blip beside the lighthouse! I often see her in Oban filling up with fish destined for some fish farm or other.

Then the slog up the hill back home - a cheap couple of hours' entertainment on a sunny day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.