29 Years

Today was payday.

It’s the first time I’ve been paid a salary since 1988. It’s still sinking in.

My 17 year old colleague was paid her first ever salary. She was a bundle of joy all day.

To celebrate I bought doughnuts for all of us to eat with our first teas/coffees of the day. I was popular for an hour or two.   

The other excitement was going to hospital - a routine ultrasound screening for AAA (abdominal aortic aneurysm). They found a turkey sandwich (part digested) and a very normal aorta.

I’ve had a good day.

As an aside, I waited about 10 minutes for my appointment. This is because I arrived 10 minutes early. The procedure took another 10 minutes. Screening is done once you’re reached age 65 (32 days ago in my case). Well done NHS Scotland.

On a less positive note the TV & radio media in Scotland and London reached an all time low today. I won’t bore you with the miserable details, but it’s scary.

On my way back to work from the hospital I stopped for a coffee and cake at the museum/library and bumped into this life size version of Oor Wullie. He got Blipped.

The extra is the Victoria Hospital, glistening in the November sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.