Eisstockschießen

A long day. Ach well.

easyJet’s 14:10 departure from Munich to Edinburgh at this time of year means I have to get the train to the airport. The 09:16 DB regional train into the city and then an S-Bahn getting to the airport for 11:35.

Ach well. It was a beautiful sunny morning in Bavaria. A brisk -8⁰ when I was having breakfast. A good morning to be sitting on trains watching the countryside go by.

The Christmas market was set up on the airport concourse, so I was able to get a steak sandwich for lunch to eat outside while watching the skater (there was only one) and Eisstockschießen players. Eisstockschießen is a bit like curling, and is sometimes known as “Bavarian curling”. I’ve tried it in Ingolstadt. Proper curling is better (you get drams).

17⁰ warmer in Edinburgh, which is 800 miles (1,300km) to the north. It made the choice of clothing a bit tricky this morning. I have survived. No hypothermia. No dehydration.

The Lithuanians have a saying along the lines of “-5⁰ is better than +5⁰”. I agree. Maybe I have Lithuanian genes? I wonder if they’d give me a Lithuanian passport. The one I have is an effing useless joke these days.

The Blip is the Eisstockschießen game. I suppose the pensioners from nearby Erding and Schwaig enjoy the the fresh air and gentle exercise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.