Scarlett O'Hara

By scarlett

The Life I Have and the Life I have

I went to London today for a lunch meeting. I haven't been there for a while and it felt strange, which is odd because I have lived and worked there most of my life.

At the end of 2004 I was made redundant. I love what I do, but I hated the organisation I was working for, so it was a bit of a relief. What to do next. I realised that I had been given something very precious; choice.

I very quickly rented out my flat, put all my worldly goods into storage, and went off to the Greek islands - alone.

I had no idea how long I would be away, or what I would do.

I lay on a beach by day nd waited table by night. I met students from all over the world who were backpacking though the islands, holiday makers, people who wanted time and space to write, paint or just think, and people like me, having a middle-aged gap year.

I had no possessions, little money, no responsibilties, and very soon, life slowed and all of a sudden, focused.

I stayed there 6 months and has the time of my life.

At the end of October I knew I would come home, but not to London. I had done with it and it had done with me. I got off the plane, still in my flip-flops and came to Northampton. I got a fabulous job and rented the most wonderful farmhouse in the middle of nowhere.

Lunch was in a Greek restaurant, I didn't know it had been booked.

Sometimes life puts an obstacle in our paths, but there is always a way round it, over it or through it.

And once through it, you leave it behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.