Day Seven - Inclement

I woke up with a horrible sore throat and was really not feeling it this morning.

Still, we packed up our stuff and headed out for an 88 km ride.

Hill after hill faced us. I witnessed a horrible accident on a down hill, which was pretty traumatic.

We had rain on and off all morning, and at lunch (10:30 am) it really started to pour down.

Severe weather warnings helped us to make the decision to pull the pin, as did many other schools. We made the necessary arrangements and did the last 33 km to camp, where we covered our bags and had a shower.

Then the four hour bus ride back to school. Mr B picked me up in Sunbury, where they kindly dropped me off by the side of the road.

Sad to have not completed, but the right idea. We heard while on the bus that the rest of the ride has been cancelled.

I’ve had a great trip and learnt the kindness of friends and strangers. I’ve realised how much resilience and perseverance I really have and I’ve really enjoyed cycling.

Night all.

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.