Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Yo! You want a piece of THIS???

I've been wanting to get this shot for awhile - this is one of the normally very polite little white breasted nuthatches showing his tough NYer side. Just out of the frame is a second 'hatch who made the mistake of landing too close to little Tough-Guy here. I cannot tell you how many previous attempts to catch this have ended up in a blurry mess of an image! So, I thought I'd quit now - this is today's blip.

In other birdy news ... Hope the Finch (rescued 11 Sept) is doing very well. She lost sight in her injured eye, but is otherwise healthy. She is finishing up a round of antibiotics before she will be released into a larger aviary with another finch. If she adjusts to the single-sided blindness, she can return to the wild. Keep your fingers crossed.

The second finch (rescued this past Friday) is also doing VERY well! That was a bit of surprise because both of its eyes were so badly infected by the time I could catch it that I didn't think it would survive. Giselle at the Avian rescue said it has responded extremely well to the meds and she believes it will make a full recovery. There are still two more house finches that I've seen with the disease in "my" flock, so I am committed to trying to catch both of them if possible.

My other offering today is this little downy woodpecker wings spread wide.

Thanks for all the comments and stars on my talented little titmouse yesterday. He and all his little buddies have been waging a full-out assault on the feeders today.

Hoping you are all having/have had a Terrific Tuesday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.