A time for everything

By turnx3

Better late than never!

Wednesday
I should have got our traditional English Christmas cake made about three weeks ago, but somehow time kept slipping by! However, I decided today must be the day! I didn’t make one the years we were in France, as we always spent the holidays over in England, at my sister-in-law’s and my sister’s, both of whom make their own cakes, and we didn’t want a whole cake to come back to! So I was feeling a little rusty, and unfortunately inadvertently used the wrong recipe - one that I had used years ago, but then had switched to another recipe. It’s still a good recipe, but it makes a bigger cake, which we could have done without! Hopefully I shall be sending a chunk back with our daughter and son-in-law -I guess it will be a bigger chunk - they can both “wear” it better than we can! During the afternoon while it was slowly cooking, I got out to enjoy the sunshine at Sharon Woods. When  I got home, the house smelled so good, and I was immediately taken back to my childhood, when I would come home from school to that wonderful aroma, either that, or if I was home when Mum was mixing it, I got to lick the spoon! By then, there was just time to get the cake out, have a shower and get dressed up for Roger’s work group Christmas meal, at a restaurant quite close to us. The food (and wine!) were good, and we came back feeling quite stuffed!
One year ago: The Louvre

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.