Convection

Inland around the foothills have been getting the benefit of afternoon showers but not us.

I had deeper lesson in humanity and compassion today. Friday is when I sometimes have an opportunity to visit my friend with Parkinson's. I try to time it when someone is there with a ukulele and there is singing and sometimes dancing.

It's fun and memories that struggle with the present recall words, tunes, and times from the past. The head carer is a hoot. She sings, dances, holds hands, puts her arm around people, and draws some patients to their feet to dance. Faces light up with joy and it is truly wonderful.

Today visitors arrived with a sweet wee girl around 14 months. She had a bumble bee want and skirt (the top had gone because of the heat). She loved the music and danced with innocence and without judgement of anyone.

People I've never seen respond before were lit up, delighted, and engaged. I felt blessed and humbled to be there.

Later in the afternoon at home I had my windows cleaned by a lovely local woman and they look good.

Today's gratitude: For the unexpected sense of community I'm finding where I live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.