Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

A-Z food challenge: M is for Malta

I feel like I've cheated on tonight's food challenge.

For one, I have made Pastizzi and blipped about them before. So I really should have made something new considering there is so much yummy Maltese food, such as Bigilla and Ftira.

Second, I really should have made my own dough but I had an old roll of puff pastry in the freezer that needed to be used up. And if I was going to use pre-made dough, it really should have been filo pastry I think.

Third, most pastizzi contain either a ricotta filling or mushy curried peas. I didn't have any peas but I did have frozen broad beans so I decided to use these instead of going down to the shops to buy some peas.

Now that I've assuaged my guilt about my inauthentic cooking, I can now say that my imposter Pastizzis still turned out well and were easy to make. They were my fave thing to eat when we visited Malta over the new year. I just loved that they were so cheap and effortless, and that there were special stores just for Pastizzi (Pastizzerias). Definitely a fave street snack.

Tomorrow I'm thinking Nepalese, though I haven't decided what to make quite yet...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.