Winter Walk

Definitely not so cold today and the snow has just about gone so we decided to go for a walk at Derwenthaugh Country Park which is close to where we live.  Until 1986 this was the site of Derwenthaugh Coke Works which first opened there in 1928.  Before the Coke Works it was the site of Crowley's Ironworks - the largest ironworks in Europe at the time. 

So from its history you will be aware  that this was a very industrial site.  After it was closed it was gradually cleared,  de-contaminated and landscaped.  In 2004 Red Kites were introduced into the park.  This has been a great success and I often see a kite when out walking there and in surrounding areas.  

One other thing is that when I was small my dad used to work at the Coke Works.  He often worked on a Sunday and my mam, grandma, sister and I used to go and visit my auntie and uncle who lived in the nearby village of Winlaton Mill.  My dad used to watch for our bus and wave to us out of the window of a big tall tower like building.  It made my day if we saw him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.