snailspace

By snailspace

Up, up and away

The weather improved considerably today. It still might have been better but, with rain not forecast until tea time, we bundled up and roped in the dog and set off to tackle those steps again. We took Nell down to the beech and walked to the end of the bay before returning the way that we had come..

Being Sunday, the beach and esplanade were much busier than they had been the other day. Surfers were much in evidence and I investigated some of the public artworks  before we returned to the van.

I tried to capture the scale of the climb to the top but the  photograph doesn't really do it. I marked the line of the path so far as it can be seen but the steps continue around the corner and there is a further incline up to the campsite.

We plan to go investigate the shops tomorrow, so that's another 900 steps to do. I shall have thighs of steel by the time that we leave... which we currently plan to do on Tuesday. The fact is we have been here so long that we are now due a free night for having stopped for 6. We might as well take the bonus before we go! The longest stay we have had in one place since leaving Kippford back in the spring. That may change as we are no investigating discounts for month-long stays in Portugal, where we may decide to sit out the winter.

Hang on... Portugal? I have barely got stuck into Spanish yet, even though my app claims that I am over 20% fluent. I'm just not ready to start in Portuguese!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.