Boomerang

As a tourist’s purchase, this one is very unlikely to return when thrown, but I’ve never tried, as it was given to me when I was a child and was ‘special’ to me and not to be damaged. It’s always reminded me of that phrase ‘what goes around comes around’, meaning ‘as you sow, so shall you reap’ and is the premise behind karma.

I believe this boomerang actually came from Auntie Enid, my dad’s cousin, but it was Uncle Brian, my mum’s brother in Tasmania, with whom I had a strong affinity and thus an interest in Australian things. We corresponded as pen pals for years, despite only meeting once or twice. He has a super sense of humour and I loved receiving his letters. I guess he must’ve appreciated mine too. Anyway to cut a long story short, he’s now 80 and we are going to visit him for Christmas.

It’s a big trip that’s required lots of planning, (some final details today), but it’s long been promised and is well overdue. The last time I visited was in 1987.

Aside from that, (our) Tony enjoyed the third County rugby assessment - fingers crossed for him. Later, Charlotte and (another) Ant came round for supper. It was good to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.