Jado

By Jado

Santa Rounds

Bramhall and Woodford Rotary Club organise 'Santa Rounds' leading up to Christmas.  All very high tech with a tracker so that everyone can find out, on the Internet , where we are at any given time.  The float has a sound system blasting out Christmas music and the children love meeting Santa on the float.

We have different collecting groups with us each night, so the money collected is all for good causes, but not just for the Rotary or a single charity.

Last night was my first outing as Team Leader (to be honest it was my first outing period!).  The Team leader has to plan the route, check that there is enough space to turn the float if need be, pick up everything needed in advance, prep the float, check fuel levels, start the generator, ensure the collectors have hi-viz vests, etc .... quite daunting really.  But it all went very well and it was really good fun.

I have 3 more rounds to do in the next 2 weeks and each one needs a 'recce' - and one needs a 'recce' today, otherwise I'll run out of time this week.  Why is it that I always get asked to do consultancy work when my diary is already full to overflowing?  But never mind - 2 weeks of total chaos and then I can wind down in time for Christmas :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.