Paladian

By Paladian

You've just gotta be lucky - sometimes!

Some months ago, I hung a hanging basket of fuchsias in a tree near the deck. We kept tripping over it, and I couldn't think of anywhere else to hang it out of the way.

A few weeks ago, I noticed that the lining was getting very ragged, and it's obvious that some birds were using the fibres for nesting material, although I had never seen them at it.

Update to today - the sky is lowering and a cold front coming through, and absolutely no insect activity whatsoever, and I really thought it was going to be emergency blip time. There's a really pretty clematis montana growing through the previously mentioned tree, and I thought maybe I could do something with that.

And then I saw it!!!!! A striated pardalote gathering nesting material. It's not the sharpest image, but by golly I am so excited to get it. It's not a rare bird, but extremely tiny and very shy. You can see how small it is by the feet gripping the hanging basket chain.

I'm going to post a frontal shot in my Blipfolio for birds in a few minutes. Also not too sharp, but so much better than nothing. Click on the left hand side to go backwards to see it.

I want to do cartwheels. There's even a flash of a sort of pink in the wing.

UPDATE: Sincere apologies - I spelt the bird's name wrong. It's Pardalote (not pardelote). So sorry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.