Wild Wednesday: Insect

I know it's not Tiny Tuesday but this was the best wild creature I could come up with for today's Wild Wednesday. (And as I have to give a talk at our camera club in January on close-ups and macro photos I need as much practice as I can get!)

I found this (deceased) insect on a window ledge in the attic. I think it's rather pretty in a way - I particularly like the detail of the "skeleton" of its wings. It's only about 12mm long so it needed the macro lens plus a focus stack to get most of it in good focus.

I know I caused some slight consternation amongst fellow blippers who are arachnophobic with my spider macro last week so I do hope this doesn't stir up any similar horrors for them: at least it's not an arachnid this time!

Many thanks to Cailleach for hosting WildWed.

(PS Does anyone know what this insect actually is?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.