Two contrasting jugs

The one on the left is W's - a gift many years ago.  It's lovely.  The writing around the top says "salus" on one side, and "in aqua" on the other - is that "salus in aqua" or "in aqua salus"?  Latin scholars can advise.  I believe it means that water is healthy.

The one on the right belonged to my parents.  Some research on the internet suggests it dates from about 1870, and was made to celebrate the armed services.  The writing around the bottom says: "Our Army and Navy and Brave Volunteers".  I have no idea where my parents got it from, and it has been offered around the family with no takers.  I am not a huge fan, but on the other hand, it has memories, and I am reluctant to part with it.  So it sits on the internal windowsill, at the back of the newly decorated kitchen annex area.

An EB at the end of a long day - W already in bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.