So long..

A meeting today in St Andrew’s House took me past my old, first, office - New St Andrew’s House. It was part of the Scottish Office estate but it fell out of favour when asbestos was found and the develoution development required something new - eventually known as Victoria Quay.

A blip of a building now being demolished was a possibility. But n my return to the city centre after a meeting with the team looking at our corporate plan I walked past this view of the Christmas market on Princes St. it is certainly colourful - and buzzing.

I was on my way to - and a few minutes late for - a meeting in the City Chambers. Good meeting but the main focus afterwards was to mark the farewell of the Edinburgh Area Convener - Jean Raeburn-Warner.

I first met Jean nearly 20 years ago. By that time she had been a panel member (1974) and then a trainer who had helped prepare numerous members of the public to sit on hearings and make these difficult decisions that are necessary to improve the lot of vulnerable children.

After a spell away Jean had returned to the system to be Area Convener and we held a small celebration to mark her significant contribution.

We will have a chance nantionally to thank her tomorrow but it was a pleasure to be with her local team to say thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.