But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Grandpaw Broon.

It was our reading group meeting today and we were each expected to bring along a book and a poem about winter; unfortunately, there seems to be too much going on in my life to read books so they just had to get by with me reading “The Common Cold” by Ogden Nash. Other members of the group think finding a poem is more difficult than reading a novel, but then we’re all different.
 
On my way home, I stopped off to tie some cinema posters onto lamp-posts and deliver one poster each to the library and the local food emporium; the lady who normally carries out this duty has pleaded that she has to babysit her grandchild in Lucerne; you’d have thought that the parents would be members of a child minding circle as we were. At the last stop I stumbled across this papier mache sculpture, I assume it was created by talented local artist, Jan Miller, who scatters these things around the town – particularly at this time of the year. In the past she has done characters from The Dandy and The Beano (which come from the same stable as Oor Wullie and The Broons). I remember Blipping The Bash Street Kids a few Christmases ago.
 
As far as I can see, the work is neither titled nor signed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.