Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Slipstream Again

I arrived back at Heathrow early this morning after a very pleasant flight from Chicago. This is the Slipstream sculpture at Terminal 2 The Queen’s Building. It is over 70 meters (230 feet) long and weighs 77 tonnes. It is the longest permanent piece of art in Europe.

I last blipped Slipstream on October 18th and wasn’t able to get the whole sculpture in the frame. When I passed under it today, I realised that I could get the whole thing in taking it from this angle.

On my blip from Oct 18th I wrote....

From Heathrow’s website:

Slipstream was commissioned by Heathrow to welcome passengers to the UK’s hub airport and has been curated by public arts agency Futurecity. Measuring 78 metres, the sculpture’s twisting aluminium form is inspired by the world of aviation and captures the imagined flight path of a small stunt plane.

This video shows the computer generation of the stunt plane in flight and how it translated into this sculpture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.