A Working Beach

I set off for East Devon this morning. I left it until the worst of the wintry weather had cleared and a crash had been moved from Haldon Hill. There was a light dusting of snow on the golf course and probably a bit more up on the moors but the sun was bright when I arrived in Sidmouth to meet up with a friend, who unfortunately didn't arrive. 

Sidmouth prides itself on having a rich Regency heritage and there are some lovely buildings. I took a walk along the esplanade and the beach to take some pictures before the cold wind made me head into town to get a coffee. My extra is taken from the beach of the houses at the western end
of the esplanade.

Refreshed and warmed up, I drove along the coast a bit to the little town of Beer which is a favourite with me. I like its blend of touristy things and working boats hauled up on the shingle beach. My blip shows fishing paraphernalia, a couple of fishing boats and one of the tractors that hauls them out of the sea to their refuge on the beach.

There is a selection of pics from the day here if you'd like to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.