lisamiriam

By LmiriamC

An evening with David Whyte

I have come across poems by David Whyte on and off for many years, and have often been inspired by him. Several weeks ago, I accidentally discovered that he was going to appear at the Center for Spiritual Living in Seattle (which is close to me), and I was thrilled to get a ticket. 

He did not disappoint! He recited several of his poems and with humor and humility, he told us about how he came to write them and what they meant to him. One of my favorites is called Finisterre, which starts with...The road in the end taking the path the sun had taken, into the western sea, and the moon rising behind you...  (read the rest here). He described how the poem was a story about the journey his niece took on the Camino de Santiago. It was magical.

If you get the chance to hear him speak in person, I highly recommend it! 

The foto was taken in the foyer of the auditorium where David Whyte spoke. There's something about the figure holding an ornament that made me smile.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.