stuartjross

By stuartjross

Docharn

I mentioned this old farm house earlier in the week and have revisited the spot several times now each time taking a new, and thus current image, for blip upload only for the choice to be put down the pecking order by something later in the day.
The morning was beautiful here on Speyside and the light was soft and warm again. At risk of repeating earlier blip text this old farm house was once a wonderful good old fashioned Highland Bed and Breakfast. The lady looked after her guests well. This wasn't about 5 star luxury and room service, just good wholesome food served with a smile. I enjoyed my stay here which probably extended over several months when I worked on the new section of road which now by passes Dulnain Bridge.
The lady's beautiful garden which she enjoyed so much has gone wild and overgrown, the front gate is chained shut and the building stands empty and has started to deteriorate.

The surrounding fields are being worked, silage is being cut and wrapped and there are sheep grazing the nearby slopes. If I bump in to someone local I may enquire about M and K.

Over the years, when I worked with a big civils contractor, I travelled all over the place and was always lucky with the lodgings I found, Contin to Grimsby. Sometimes it was a formal B and B for a couple of nights or even the odd bed sit arrangement for longer spells. I got to meet really interesting and kind folk but it is very difficult to keep in touch with everyone from an era which predated social media and common internet use.

(Though on tonight's performance I think that is where my laptop belongs.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.