stuartjross

By stuartjross

Docharn

A long time ago when I first started hill walking (say the 90s) for many the default choice of trousers for the activity was a pair of breeches. They bore resemblance to the short legged trouser worn by stalkers and game keepers. While those traditional garments came in robust high quality tweed, often in the estate's unique pattern the hill walker's version was usually plain dark blue and had a mixture of man made and wool fibres.
You will gather the breeches were never a fashion statement and were a choice motivated purely by function. Cut short to the knee they afforded superb freedom of movement and you could wear them in the rain through light showers without feeling wet. They came in several thicknesses for winter or summer activity.
You will note the past tense above. I recently unearthed mine, which have been hiding in a cupboard since we moved to Roy Bridge in 2002. The hunt was prompted by a recent soaking on a cooler day when my jogging trousers did nothing to help.
They appear to have "shrunk" in the last ten years of inactivity and while I could get them on and once again enjoy that freedom of movement of the legs I have to be honest there was a bit of relief when I breathed in (out) and unclipped the waist band. I managed about four hours.

At House of Bruar yesterday I passed rails of the high quality tweed breeches (they call them breeks) and I have no doubt they would function the same as my old Tiso branded pair.

We were in Inverness today and I went to a couple of outdoor shops. One guy said "nuh, don't get them anymore" and ironically in an earlier visit to Tiso the young assistant hadn't a clue what I was talking about.

It would appear if I am ever to enjoy the freedom of movement, warmth and comfort of breeches again then I will need to get a pair of jaggy tweed ones. I really don't know if I can pull it off as such attire is normally the preserve of well heeled land owners or smartly dressed game keepers.

House of Bruar, Tiso; no plugs intended; here's another one. On recommendation we had lunch at the Mustard Seed on the side of the river in Inverness today. We had a brilliant meal, good value, quality and service, but in truth everywhere in this part of the town (city) is good for lunch.

Blip then: On first look out the window the impending downpours hadn't reached Speyside and the dogs got a nice stretch up the track here past Docharn Farm House. Slightly beyond the house is this old bothy. I imagine it must have been overspill accommodation for agricultural use. There is evidence of mains electricity and other service connections though currently it is in need of some renovation. A romantic notion perhaps but you imagine within its walls evenings of long hearty discussion over a dram.

Anyway that's it. If I get new breeches that will be a blip for another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.