*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Cold-hearted

I've been thinking (and talking) a lot about empathy the last couple of days due to something that's happened locally.

I've never seen myself as someone who lacks empathy, maybe because it's not a particularly good trait to have, but I've sort of had to admit to myself that, in many cases, I do. I seem to lack empathy for things that other people seem to have massive amounts for, and yet feel very deeply (to the point of being inconsolable) about things that others would soon forget about (especially anything to do with wildlife and animals). I've probably not explained that very well. I actually made myself really upset yesterday because I felt bad for not being upset about something. Oh, how lovely it must be not to overthink everything and not to beat myself up over things I have no control over.

Maybe I need to have a glass of wine and do some origami... give my monkey mind the night off :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.