*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Robin's Song

Robins sang in England,
Frost or rain or snow,
All the long December days
Endless years ago.

Robins sang in England
Before the Legions came,
Before our English fields were tilled
Or England was a name.

Robins sang in England
When forests dark and wild
Stretched across from sea to sea
And Jesus was a child.

Listen! in the frosty dawn
From his leafless bough
The same brave song he ever sang
A robin's singing now.

~ Rodney Bennett ~

One of the poems from The Book of 1000 Poems which my mum loved as a child. She passed the love on to me. The poems about birds, wildlife, nature and the seasons were always very important to me. I still enjoy reading them now.

The sun shone today and saw loads of birds including 2 pretty jays, a heron and a dipper. I was very happy :-)

I've been working on a local autism facebook group this evening. Hoping to get it up and running in the new year. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.