drawntodevon

By drawntodevon

my line of work

I didn't go anywhere other than my studio today. So this is today's blip...

Wonder what on earth it is? It's a special 'plate' I'm constructing. From this I can take a print called an intaglio or drypoint. The shine you see is layer upon layer of varnish painted over my sketch. Using the sketch as a guide, I'll scratch into the surface. Ink is forced into these 'scratches' which will then be offset on to paper under pressure. Hey presto, you're printing!

The varnish serves as a shiny, resistant surface that you can scratch & scrape to create line & tone. This blip shows the first stage in constructing a very basic cardboard drypoint plate. Sheep & cows make great subjects as they're strong, graphic shapes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.