Return to the North

By Viking

Floe

We are very fortunate here in the UK to never be too far away from access to art and culture. For the last 12 months Hull has been 'City of Culture' and I have tried to take as much advantage of it as I can. Money has been tight so some of the concerts and theatre productions that have been in the city have been beyond my means. ( I was particularly disappointed not to be able to see John Grant) but I have been a few times to the city's galleries and museums. I have seen Francis Bacon, Ron Mueck, Lucien Freud and Rembrandt amongst others. I have seen the poppies and daffodils made of  Lego. 
Last night I heard on the local news that a multimedia projection was going to be projected onto the outside walls of 'The Deep' (a fabulous aquarium in the city). The installation was called 'Floe' and was a sound and vision projection of the geology of the earth and the beginning of life in the seas. 

It was amazing! It runs all weekend and at 6pm when I got there there must have been 2-300 people there watching it - in minus temperatures! Took lots of photos which you can see here

Was home to the warm and a cooked tea (haggis and mince pie) and then off to A's pals to catch up with a friend that she hasn't seen for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.