But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Grindstone.

It has been a busy day (again) with a visit to the camera club to organise pictures, they're for a display and sale at a local charity shop in The New Year. It didn’t take long, but on the way home I stopped at the apiary to make sure that all was well. It was just a case of making sure that the hives were still upright; I know that there are badgers around who might try and eat the contents of a beehive, and are quite capable of doing so, as well as deer that might use a hive as a scratching post. There was no point in disturbing the girls though, in a few weeks’ time, they’ll be getting a winter feed and a dose of medicine.
 
I also checked on a possible pathway to get the car close to the bees; there is space to park by this old shed, which I assume from the discarded grindstone, was a workshop, and there are only a few yards of vegetation from here to the bees to clear for access. This is actually about thirty yards from one of the estate roads so quite discrete while not being boggy. The preparations will be a task for me over the winter and early spring.
 
This afternoon, Mrs TD wanted to go out and buy a Christmas present; I hope it wasn’t for me as that would mean that I’ll have to get her one, a task that is fraught with difficulties. Apart from anything else, I didn’t like the bamboo (honestly) socks that she purchased. Including the coffee and scone, that was the afternoon gone. I had planned on trimming my hair ready for the “At Home” we’ve been invited to tomorrow; I’ll have to try and fit that task in in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.