Transitoire

By Transitoire

Une amélioration!

So woke up with this song in my head - so apt for today! Drugs are beginning to work/I'm getting better finally, after a week of feeling bad, awful, awfuller and awfullest! Managed my normal hours in work AND then went for drinks with Claire, Becky, Thomas, Kendra et al. A very happy lady here...let's hope tomorrow I will feel even closer to being better!

So the classes today were cinquième, who had a test on the fairy tale topic they have been studying. One of the questions was to find the tense mistakes in a passage given to them - I only managed to find 12 of the 15 that there were at one point! However, when I thought about it and read the passage slower turns out my English literary mind had just been correcting the tenses on its own. Clever brain, but not great when one of the kids asks for help! The other was troisième, the eldest class in the collège. They are studying 'Oliver Twist' by Charles Dickens. Heavy? Yes. And don't we know about it too! Not that I blame them, it would be hard for any native English speaking fifteen year old to read it, let alone when it is a second language. Unfortunately it is one of two books left by the old English teacher that Kristie can teach them, the other being 'Tess of the D'Urbervilles' - a rock and a hard place some may say! Trying to think of ways at the moment to engage them...watch this space.

After this I went home to rest up for the evening. Although I was only going for drinks and not the meal (still not really eating, don't fancy watching everyone else eat!), I knew that I would be knackered no matter what I did! So met everyone as usual at Saint-Pierre, and then we went to an English themed bar (have to say here, not our choice but the Frenchy's, Thomas!). Was rather a strange experience to be completely honest, as all the decorative signs are in English, including the toilets - which could be a tad confusing to an inebriate! Anyway, a lovely pub/bar/thing...and so great to get out of the apartment and actually SEE people. Even though I'd only missed Saturday and Sunday it felt like I had been gone forever, so it was so good to be back! Talked about "kiss wars" (how many kisses to put at the end of a text depending on how much you like the person!), and how most people end up with the standard 'Xx'...Thomas however came up with a corker of a line, 'But what if you're angry?' 'You dont say bisous, you say f**k you!' And that most definitely settled the discussion!
Somehow we then ended up on the topic of going out in drag for fancy dress...which is apparently something any self-respecting young Frenchman would never do, ever. This photograph is of Claire showing Thomas one of her friends from home, dressed in drag. Then of course everyone else got out their photographs to show him, including Laura (who is German!). Don't think Thomas is convinced though...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.